.

Rockwood District Leaders Are Not Listening, Says Watchdog Coalition

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Rockwood Stakeholders for Real Solutions says Rockwood School District administrators and Board of Education are "simply a strong-willed bureaucracy that doesn’t like change."

“Rockwood District officials clearly do not accept the fact that, at some level or another, RS for RS is a fair representation of the 46% of stakeholders who voted against the tax increase ballot measure this pass April. As a result, they do not value the input and representatives of Rockwood Stakeholders for Real Solutions”.

RS for RS Advisory Board – September 1, 2012

Sorry, folks, we tried and, they are not listening.

We have brought to the forefront your concerns. We have educated and informed you on issues and decisions facing your district that are otherwise not detailed within the district’s communication apparatus. In turn, you came to your own decision and spoke at the ballot box in April and,

they didn’t hear you.

We have provided a vehicle to express your views and opinions without the fear of backlash or retribution upon your child, your business, your position in the community or your job in the district and,

they don’t believe you.

Despite all of our efforts to establish a working representative relationship with district officials and your Board of Education, similar to the one provided the teachers of the Rockwood National Education Association (pages 28-31) and,

our input is dismissed.

We are definitely not a part of the Rockwood team. They are in charge and they like it that way. Our spokesperson and advisers are not validated or valued. There is no open seat at the table for an independent citizen group who represents the stakeholder-at-large. We have tried and,

they are simply a strong-willed bureaucracy that doesn’t like change.

Where does this leave you, your children, your business, your tax dollars, and OUR district community?  With only two options:

  • or continue to dedicate your time to earning a living; running your business; raising your families; helping others and balancing your own household budgets and,

speak your voice through your vote in April 2013

when there will be two open seats on the Board of Education

and a possible bond or tax levy on the ballot

Rockwood Stakeholders for Real Solutions
"Keeping the focus on fiscal responsibility, students and teachers"

Eileen Tyrrell, Co-Founder/Spokesperson
Doug Aegerter, Rene Artman, Charlotte Fink, David Miller, Larry Tyrrell - Advisers
Eureka, MO
636-222-8305
rsdstakeholders@gmail.com

Rockwood Stakeholders for Real Solutions September 17, 2012 at 03:14 AM
September 10, 2012 Julie Brown Patton, Editor Eureka-Wildwood Patch Re: Article from September 7th - Picture Rockwood' Community Workshops Start Next Week - http://eureka-wildwood.patch.com/articles/picture-rockwood-community-workshops-start-next-week#video-11256552 We respectfully submit a correction. RS for RS was not asked to proactively participate, we were asked for a list of citizens willing to participate. There is a big difference. We are not like the PTO's or the Teacher's Unions who collect dues, hold meetings, elected officers, etc. We are a watchdog group, a voice for the people, formed for the purpose of bringing the "real issues" of the stakeholders to the forefront. We have subscribers, readers, and followers; however you want to refer to them. They are on our email list and receive our blogs, newsletters, alerts, etc. We are about educating, informing and encouraging engagement of stakeholders in their school district. As we do not have an official membership structure with dues or meetings, when we received the request from Director Brown to "pick" 4 four citizens who we felt would like to serve on the Facilitating Team, our spokesperson responded by stating; we would never feel we could "select" citizens to be interviewed to serve, however we would put out a "call to action" to approximately 400 of our nearly 3,000 subscribers about Directors Brown’s request. And we did.
Rockwood Stakeholders for Real Solutions September 17, 2012 at 03:14 AM
It should be noted that Rockwood School District DID NOT put out a call to action informing stakeholders they were seeking interested persons to serve on a community engagement Facilitating Team. The only public notice that went out to our community informing stakeholders of the need was from RS for RS. RS for RS did not select a representative. That is not our role or responsibility. RS for RS is a watchdog group, therefore our job is to watch the district and hold them to their word. The community engagement process is supposed to be about LISTENING to the stakeholders from a "broad range" of the community and not the "usual suspects" (as stated by Unicom Arc). After seeing the demographic make-up of the citizen’s team that is charged with leading this engagement process and the format of the workshops, it looks more like a campaign to refocus the community. We are very skeptical of the Picture Rockwood process. We hope we are wrong. Rockwood Stakeholders for Real Solutions Keeping the focus on fiscal responsibility, students and teachers Eileen Tyrrell, Co-Founders/Spokesperson Doug Aegerter, Rene Artman, Charlotte Fink, David Miller, Larry Tyrrell - Advisors Eureka Missouri 636-222-8305 rsdstakeholders@gmail.com email rsdstakeholders.org website/blog
Rockwood Stakeholders for Real Solutions September 17, 2012 at 03:27 AM
Larry: It is okay that RS for RS does not represent your views. Differences of opinion and sharing them with one another to produce the best for our communities is what makes this country great. Just as you plan on sharing your views at every available opportunity, so don't those who subscribe to our newsletters, follow our blogs, submit their opinions and research for publication. Why is it that it is okay for you, but not for others? Just because stakeholders came together to bring news the district community that is not always shared with the public by the district leaders and officials; doesn't mean they don't care about the students, teachers and stakeholders of this district. In fact, you could argue the real measure of your dedication is whether of not you are willing to take a stand when it isn't always popular.
Rockwood Stakeholders for Real Solutions September 17, 2012 at 03:29 AM
Lets all stop, put our pride aside, take off the rose-colored glasses and see that we are at a crossroads. It is time to get real and do some of your own research and not find all our solutions in bonds and increased taxes.
Larry Lazar September 17, 2012 at 10:45 AM
They shouldn't "ignore" you - that was a poor choice of words on my part, and from what I have seen, Rockwood isn't ignoring anyone. In fact, it appears they are reaching out to a much broader segment of the community - in a fair and professional manner. I applaud them.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »